MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Veterans of Foreign Wars Scout of the Year Program

Annually, the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States awards three individuals who are: Eagle Scouts, Girl Scout Gold Award recipients, Venture Summit Award recipients, and/or Sea Scout Quartermasters who have risen above their peers in exemplifying the qualities of that rank. 

    Awards are as follows:   

                $5.000  1st place National scholarship

                $3,000  2nd place National scholarship

                $1,000  3rd place National scholarship


To be eligible for the award, the candidate must:

· Be the recipient of the Eagle Scout Award, Girl Scout Gold Award, Venture Summit Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award.

· Be a registered, active member of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew or Sea Scout Ship at the time the above award was received.

· Have demonstrated exemplary citizenship in school, Scouting and community.

The deadline for entry to your local VFW Post is March 1.  The official entry form can be found on the council website at  For your convenience, a list of your local VFW Posts is also provided  For Scouts in states neighboring West Virginia, contact your state’s VFW Headquarters. 

Ohio – (614)224-3861

Pennsylvania – (717)234-7927

Maryland – (410)752-6474

Kentucky – (502)635-2638

Deadline for a scout to file their complete entry application and required material with a VFW Post is March 1, 2018.

Each Post will select one entry and submit to the VFW State Headquarters.  The State winner will be forwarded to VFW National Headquarters for further competition.


Helpful Forms

VFW Scout of the Year Program.pdf


WV VFW Post Contact Information.pdf



Copyright © 2019 Buckskin Council, Boy Scouts of America. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®